Food ethics in Turkey and a 1200 years old olive tree

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I went to Turkey in early March to present a paper at the first Turkish Agricultural and Food Ethics Congress held at Ankara’s University’s Agriculture Faculty. I shared my experience of the Food Ethics Council and how our thinking about ethics has developed – see links at bottom of this post to download my paper and a pdf of my talk.

The Congress was the culmination of a two year EU funded project to develop Agricultural and Food Ethics thinking in Turkey, which I blogged about last year – see here. Over 200 people from all over Turkey attended as well as speakers from the USA, Norway, the Netherlands and the UK. There were a wide ranging set of papers and posters presented at the meeting – see below for the programme in English. Yet again I found myself doing an interview in Turkish on live television during the congress about our work.

The organisers have also carried out training courses in seven cities around the country as part of the project with over 160 participants as well as establishing a food ethics association. This, they hope, will grow and develop after the project and become a useful contributor to how food and farming develops in Turkey. We in the Food Ethics Council will be reviewing the documentation they have gathered and see if we can supply them with additional material for their library.

After the Congress I went to the Aegean and met up with one of the speakers, Prof Uygun Aksoy, whom I’ve known since I worked at the Aegean University in the late 1970s. While we were out we passed some wonderfully gnarled old – and I mean very old, around 1200 years – olive trees and I took a short video of her talking about them. Do have a look.

My paper: TARGETCongress-FEC-GTPaper

Powerpoint: FEC-TARGETconf-10-11March17ppt

Programme: 1st_Turkish_Congress_on_Agricultural_and_Food_Ethics_PROGRAMME

About geofftansey

I curate the Food Systems Academy, a free, on-line, open education resource to transform our food systems. I am also a member of the Food Ethics Council and chaired the Fabian Commission on Food and Poverty, which reported in 2015.
This entry was posted in Reports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food ethics in Turkey and a 1200 years old olive tree

  1. Joan Hoggan says:

    What wonderful olive trees!

Leave a Reply

